Celebrate Green book plus goodies giveaway

November 1, 2008 at 3:06 pm 34 comments

Lots of our books have been given away via websites like KIWI and Hallmark. But this month, we’re giving away a copy of Celebrate Green! ourselves. And to make it even better, if you win, you’ll find some super surprises when you open the box. (Can you say “chocolate?” and a gorgeous hemp bag from Bring it in a Bag and…well, you’ll just have to win and see what you get!) Retail value of what you receive will be between $50 and $75.

All you have to do to win is to leave a comment on this blog about what you plan to do to green up your Thanksgiving, Christmas, Hanukkah or any other special event between now and December 31.

We’ll choose our winner at random from all submissions by mid-November so you’ll be sure to have the book and goodies before the holidays.

Thanks for your participation. We look forward to reading all your great ideas.

And by the way, be sure to check out all the other great offers at the Holiday Gift Fest.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Happy HalloGREEN! Window dressing

34 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jodi Plume  |  November 1, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I’ll be greening up our meals by using as much local & organic as I can. I am part of a few organic food co-ops, so that should be the easy part. 🙂 For Christmas, I’ve been cutting back over the years on the usage of wrapping paper. I have a bit yet to use up, but I won’t be buying anymore. I prefer re-using brown paper or re-using (over and over and over again) gift bags & boxes. I have some gift bags that are almost as old as my 15 yo daughter!

    Reply
  • 2. karenzi  |  November 3, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    One of the biggest changes I’m making from a business standpoint is that I have decided to cut out giving the requisite “fruit/food basket” as client gifts (shipping, packaging, not buying local) and replace it with “giving cards” – I’m planning on using http://www.donorschoose.org. Our clients will get a “feel good” vibe, get to pick out the project to give to, and get a second gift in the form of a thank you from the kids in the classroom.

    On the personal side, I’m focusing on buying local/organic and reducing waste, especially gift wrapping. I’ll also be helping my daughter make handmade gifts instead of buying them. I could go on all day… we’re just trying to keep green in mind!

    Reply
  • 3. Marion Nielson  |  November 3, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    My daugher is 6 and she and I work hard together to recycle everything possible. She often asks Mommy can I recycle this? I have parties planned for November and December. I have purchased recyclable plates, cups and utensils. Some items are even made from some recycled material. I do not have glass recycling so I am planning to use my three blue Ikea bags to collect all glass from the parties so I can take it to the transfer station. I purchase whatever foods I can from local and sustainable merchants/markets. Of course, I will continue that. Like Jodi I also have a bizillion gift bags that I reuse over and over. I use brown craft paper to wrap gifts as it is recyclable unlike other wraps. I dress my packages with beautiful fabric ribbon that also gets used over and over. I have a lot of scrap white plotting paper from the engineering firm where I work. I intend to use this paper to wrap gifts as well as make lots of wonderful snowflakes.

    Reply
  • 4. Leslie C  |  November 3, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Besides recently joining a CSA (community supported agriculture) to eat more locally grown (very local, being the CSA is less than 3 miles from my house, and I live in the middle of nowhere!) boxed weekly, organic, fresh, and with a very low carbon imprint!, and the fact that I have already been reusing gift bags, tissue paper and bows for years and years I am trying to become more aware of what the products that we purchase for Christmas (like the new Christmas ornament each of my children likes to pick out at the store each year, or toy gifts for my children) are made out of, how they are packaged, if they foster true creativity, or just self-promote someone else’s product and line of videos, matching toys and licensed clothing. I am working on becoming more aware, and think over time this awareness will lead me instinctively to a more green lifestyle.

    What really made me think hard when I read the book “Celebrate Green” was when Corey talked about her childhood holidays, and how the focus was on “people” not “stuff”. The felt advent calendar filled with daily treats involving spending time with family, to the homemade gifts each received. I am thinking hard about what I am teaching my kids about Christmas and how our family can make it less material (did I get the toy on the top of my list that may be long forgotten in a month?) and more about memories and special times that may be remembered for a lifetime.

    Celebrate Green got me started thinking, as I think was the intention.

    Reply
  • 5. nonpareilblog  |  November 3, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    yes…we will be greening up our meals as well by buying locally, and eating for the season. For Christmas, buying wrapping paper that has been printed on recycled paper, and re-using what I already have…We’re pretty green to begin with (composting and saving rainwater)…but there’s always room for doing even more.

    Reply
  • 6. ecokind  |  November 4, 2008 at 6:57 am

    I always go to mum’s for the holidays and she actually has been green in her holidays for a very long time now.

    Things she does:
    * Buy local at Farmer’s Market
    * Buy organic
    * Re-uses wrapping, ribbons, decorations each year
    * Recycles the un-reusable stuff when possible
    * Decorates with fresh clippings from the outdoors and recycles them after into the yard waste bin
    * Use ceramic plates, silver utensils from the family, as well as linens and dishes

    There is probably more. That is what I can think of for now.

    Reply
  • 7. The Gift Fest: First Edition! — Esculon Says  |  November 4, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    […] 1. Enter to Win: Celebrate Green! […]

    Reply
  • 8. Marcy  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    This year I finally got it, after watching several specials on T.V. about the state of the global environment I am convinced that I must do my part. I am now much more diligent in recycling, eating organic and using energy effiecient products in the home.

    Reply
  • 9. * tonya *  |  November 4, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    1. We are part of our local organic CSA so we’ll be using lots of fresh organic produce this holiday season.

    2. I will be making most of the gifts for my children, there will be no plastic toys from us for the little ones.

    3. I will be using fabric to wrap all of the gifts with ribbons .. all of which will be recycled to use again and again and again ……

    I’ve also used my amazon affiliate program to link your book on my party planning website and I hope you don’t mind if I include you in my blogroll too. I think you girls have some fabulous ideas.

    Reply
  • 10. Liz Pagliarini  |  November 4, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I have decided to buy the reusable shopping bags from Target and Trader Joe’s and use those as gift bags for Christmas presents this year. Everyone I know shops at Target and/or TJ’s. So, they will be getting an extra gift from me — a reusable tote for their shopping. That means I am not buying wrapping paper and paper bags, and I am pushing my “green” agenda on my gift recipients in a cute, fun way.

    Reply
  • 11. karen c.  |  November 5, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Every Christmas, we save the gift bags and reuse them again and again each year.

    Reply
  • 12. Christine  |  November 5, 2008 at 1:39 am

    I’ll be making a few vegetarian dishes for my family’s holiday meals this year, using organic or local (or both!) ingredients. It’s my first year as a vegetarian at Thanksgiving and Christmas.

    In addition, I plan on making several gifts out of materials I already have in my home — yarn that hasn’t been used up, leftover fabric from previous crafts, etc. For the gifts that I don’t make, I will either purchase from local vendors (like at the craft fairs coming up), or give gifts that are experiences instead of items, like theatre tickets, or give edible gifts.

    For the past few weeks, I’ve been going through last year’s Christmas cards and cutting them up to make new ones, so I don’t use virgin wood. Also, I make ornaments for the Christmas tree out of bits of old cards and leftover Christmas fabric.

    Reply
  • 13. Terri  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    I have decided to use the comics from the local newspaper to wrap all Christmas presents this year!

    Reply
  • 14. Terri  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    I have decided to use the comics from the local newspaper to wrap all Christmas presents this year!

    Reply
  • 15. Alex  |  November 5, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Hi Lynn,

    I decided that this year I’m going to wrap eveything using the japanese cloth wrapping technique! Should be fun =)

    We also make our own ornaments…get as creative as we can using stuff we find.

    Reply
  • 16. Lee  |  November 6, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    I make one of a kind footstools, and I am making “green” footstools to give as gifts to my Daughter’s teachers this year. They will be made out of completely recycled material or out of reusable non recyclable material. My daughter, who is 8, is very much into reuse and recycle, so I am joining her and we are going to be making them together!

    Reply
  • 17. Jenn S.  |  November 6, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    We are greening up our holidays by buying organic, recycling and upcyling to make decorations, and using reusable wrapping paper.

    Reply
  • 18. MRS.MOMMYY  |  November 6, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    We don’t use paper products- we use reusueable, washable plates and napkins and cups.
    We also buy local organic.
    We bought energy saving Christmas lights and have reused the same ornaments for many years.
    This year we have all basically agreed to buy gifts from the heart- and buy from shops like etsy, and etsy has alot of shops that recycle to make items and toys.
    We reuse wrapping paper too but also start with recysled paper and newspaper for wrapping then stamp it

    Reply
  • 19. alemos  |  November 6, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    We are going to be making or purchasing used items as gifts.

    Reply
  • 20. Kathy  |  November 6, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    This past year we bought an artificial tree that we will be able to use over and over. I also save gift bags, etc that I will reuse and this year I bought reusable gift bags (cute handmade bags) for small gifts this year.

    In addition, we will focus on local, organic food – including the turkey.

    I may also make my own fudge this year for gifts!

    Reply
  • 21. * tonya *  |  November 7, 2008 at 1:42 am

    After reading this post and making a comment already, you inspired me to write a blog post about green gift wrapping. Thank you.

    Reply
  • 22. Co  |  November 7, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    We are greening up our holidays by learning more about local foods and how to cook them and making holiday treats using as much local food as we can. We are still getting foods from a neighborhood CSA for a couple of weeks from a local farm and have also just joined a winter CSA. We are inspired to do this, in part, by the birth of our son and our desire to introduce him to food using what is fresh and local (we make homemade baby food for him), but also our desire to stop relying so much on foods shipped from far away.

    Money is obviously a concern for us and many families right now, so finding ways to go green without breaking the bank is important to us. That, and we want our son and other children of his generation to inherit a better Earth than the one they would inherit if we refuse to act.

    Thanks for the chance to win this great book.

    Reply
  • 23. Rebecca Snodgrass  |  November 8, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    I am using recycled wrapping paper. This will help alot.

    Reply
  • 24. Jennae @ Green Your Decor  |  November 9, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    In the past, I’ve been known to go a little Christmas shopping crazy. Now that I’m a more conscious consumer, I won’t be doing a whole lot of gifting this year. My kids and husband will each get one main, sustainably made gift, and another smaller gift that I’ll make myself. We’re also trying to find a service that will deliver a Christmas tree, then pick it up and replant it. I know services like this exist, but I haven’t been able to find one in my area yet.

    Lastly, we plan on donating to charities like Toys for Tots and Angel Tree, and volunteering as a family at a local soup kitchen.

    Reply
  • 25. Caroline  |  November 11, 2008 at 3:07 am

    I save and reuse gift bags and bows; recycle trash, of course; we bring our own bags to the grocery store each week (Trader Joe’s enters you in a drawing for doing that); trying to incorporate more organic foods into our recipes; buying handmade items for holiday gift giving from the great artisans I’ve gotten to know over the course of the past few months! I’d love to win this book to learn about more great green ways! Thank you for this opportunity!

    Reply
  • 26. Mary  |  November 11, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Use items from nature to decorate. Pinecones, cranberries, acorns and other items can be collected along roadsides and trails. Just stick them in the oven at 150 degrees for about an hour to kill any critters that may live inside.

    Use soy and beeswax candles – never the ones that are petroleum based.

    Good luck to everyone. The giveaway sounds fabulous.

    Reply
  • […] a copy of “Celebrate Green,” a book that can help you have a greener, less wasteful, more sustainable holiday season. Ends mid […]

    Reply
  • 28. Tanya  |  November 14, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    We plan on recycling old paper around the house to wrap our Christmas presents. I’m going to buy post-consumer recyclable wrapping paper for my niece and nephews, because what kid doesn’t love ripping wrapping paper off of presents!

    Reply
  • 29. Lorina  |  November 15, 2008 at 12:36 am

    I am greening the Holidays by reusing all my decorations and I’ve committed to not buy any more

    Reply
  • 30. Meredith  |  November 15, 2008 at 4:11 am

    We are reusing all of last years decorations for both holidays instead of buying new things. My daughter is learning to make ornaments to give as presents, instead of buying gifts. She feels like it’s a better gift if it’s homemade.

    Reply
  • 31. Kathy  |  November 15, 2008 at 4:30 am

    I’m going place recycling bins around the house instead of trash cans (ok maybe just one trash can…)

    Reply
  • 32. Sarah  |  November 15, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    I plan on being green this holiday season by cooking locally and organically. Reusing gift bags and gift wrap from previous gift exchanges.

    Reply
  • 33. Kam A  |  November 22, 2008 at 12:52 am

    Instead of using paper or plastic plates I am just using my normal dishes to try to create less waste. I am also reusing gift bags to put the presents in.

    Reply
  • 34. Coleen D.  |  November 26, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    For the holidays I use local/ organic foods as much as possible; gifts are homemade, second-hand, recycled, sustainable, and meaningful; wrapping paper is newspapers, paper bags, reusable bags and fun – personal gift tags. for decorating i forgo a tree of any kind and decorate my houseplants; My holiday cards will be e-card instead of paper cards; and no new decorations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Feeds


